EduSpaceLounge’s Weblog

Thing 12 – Play with Google Maps and Street View

Posted on: 18, November 2008

I have used Google Maps a few times. I think Google Maps is good if you want to know how to get from A to B.

If I just want to use a street directory, I use http://www.street-directory.com.au/sd_new/mapsearch.cgi. The maps look just like maps in a Melways.

Not long after Google Street View was launched in Australia, one of my students showed the class Google Street View. Everybody in the class had great fun searching for where they live. I looked up some addresses that I had lived at during my life. That was funny – a lot of my old homes have gardens that are so overgrown that it was difficult to see the house. When I looked up my current address, it wasn’t my street that showed up. My street has 2 marked lanes and normal street parking. The street that showed up was much narrower, with angle parking. A few weeks later I tried again but still got the same wrong street.

Here is a photo of the house I lived in when I was a teenager. I love that house.

memories .....

memories .....

Leave a Reply

EduSpaceLounge on Del.icio.us

if (WIDGETBOX) WIDGETBOX.renderWidget('d3d90e81-af4e-4595-9594-c31af97ea7b5');Get the web2.0 - Naomi Mellendorf on Diigo widget and many other great free widgets at Widgetbox! Not seeing a widget? (More info)

Flickr Photos

Cluster Maps

